Gateway of Assam

After the treaty of Yandabo in 1926 when the Burmese invaders had been evicted from Assam. The British incorporated Assam in their empire in India. Assam now become part of Bengal Presidency and a commissioner for Assam division was located at Guwahati. There was a growing demand for Assam being made a separate province to preserve Assamese Language and Culture, moreover, it was found that the inclusion of Assam in Bengal, had made the Bengal Presidency unwidely. Therefore, it was decided to make Assam a separate province.
Lord North Brook was the First British Viceroy to visit Assam in 1874. He came up by steamer from Kolkata, the then capital of India, and landed at this site on 27th August 1874. This gate was constructed to commemorate his visit. Announced the creation of Assam as a Chief Commissioner’s province with its capital at Shillong. In 1905, following partition of Bengal by Lord Curzon, Assam ceased to be a separate province and became a part of East Bengal. Partition of Bengal was annulled in 1911 and Assam again became separate province but now under a Lieutenant Governor in 1921, it was upgraded to a Governor’s province. After the separation of Meghalaya from Assam 1972, the capital of Assam was shifted from Shillong to Guwahati.
This gate is now popularly known as “GATEWAY OF ASSAM”.





2 responses to “Gateway of Assam

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s